Austin restaurants: Where to eat soup

View Caption Hide Caption
Second Bar + Kitchen at Second Street and Congress Avenue serves a rib-sticking Italian-inspired favorite: pepperoni soup. Photo by Ralph Barrera.
Second Bar + Kitchen at Second Street and Congress Avenue serves a rib-sticking Italian-inspired favorite: pepperoni soup. Photo by Ralph Barrera.

Second Bar + Kitchen at Second Street and Congress Avenue serves a rib-sticking Italian-inspired favorite: pepperoni soup. Photo by Ralph Barrera.

I regularly offer a rotating list of places to eat right now. This week: The weather is cold(ish), and you need to warm up. No better way than with soup — whether it’s Vietnamese pho or Mexican caldo.

This list of 30 is not comprehensive. Don’t see your favorite soup? Email me at modam@statesman.com or talk to me on Twitter @Odam. More restaurants broken down by cuisine and occasion at austin360.com/AustinRestaurants.

Tofu and veggies soup at Asia Café. 8650 Spicewood Springs Road. 512-331-5788, asiamarketaustin.com.

Red curry coconut with fried mussels at the Bonneville. 202 W. Cesar Chavez St. 512-428-4643, thebonnevilleaustin.com.

Rotating seasonal soup at Café Josie. 1200 W. Sixth St. 512-322-9226, cafejosie.com.

Cauliflower, huitlacoche and mole atChavez. 111 E Cesar Chavez St. 512-478-2991, chavez-austin.com.

Aztec corn and shrimp bisque at Chez Zee. 5406 Balcones Drive. 512-454-2666, chez-zee.com.

Cioppino at Clark’s. 1200 W. Sixth St. 512-297-2525, clarksoysterbar.com

Mulligatawny soup at Clay Pit. 1601 Guadalupe St. 512-322-5131, claypit.com.

Veggie ramen at Daruma Ramen. 612-B E. Sixth St. 512-369-3897, darumaramen.com.

Vietnamese wonton soup at Elizabeth Street Café. 1501 S. First St. 512-291-2881, elizabethstreetcafe.com.

French onion soup at Epicerie. 2307 Hancock Drive. 512-371-6840, epicerieaustin.com.

Seafood gumbo at Evangeline Café. 8106 Brodie Lane. 512-282-2586, evangelinecafe.com.

Sweet potato soup at Josephine House. 1601 Waterston Ave. 512-477-5584, josephineofaustin.com.

French onion soup at Justine’s. 4710 E. Fifth St. 512-385-2900, justines1937.com.

Pozole at La Casita. 1519 W. Anderson Lane. 512-469-0105, lacasitatx.com.

Guay teaw gai toon at Madam Mam’s. Multiple locations. madammam.com.

Tortilla soup at Manuel’s. Multiple locations. manuels.com.

Texas ramen at Michi Ramen. 6519 N. Lamar Blvd. 512-386-1908, michiramen.com.

Chicken tortilla soup at Moonshine. 303 Red River St. 512-236-9599, moonshinegrill.com.

Phở tái nạm gầu at Pho Saigon. 10901 N. Lamar Blvd. 512-821-1022, phosaigonnoodlehouse.com.

Filet mignon pho at PhoNatic. Multiple locations.

Caldo de pollo at Polvo’s. 2004 S. First St. 512-441-5446, polvosaustin.com.

New England clam chowder at Quality Seafood Market. 5621 Airport Blvd. 512-452-3820, qualityseafood.wordpress.com.

Tonkotsu original at Ramen Tatsu-ya. 8557 Research Blvd. ramen-tatsuya.com.

Guay teaw meatball at Sap’s Fine Thai Cuisine. 4514 West Gate Blvd. 512-899-8525, sapsthai.com.

Pepperoni soup at Second Bar + Kitchen. 200 Congress Ave. 512-827-2750, congressaustin.com/second.

Gumbo with duck and oysters at South Congress Cafe. 1600 S. Congress Ave. 512-447-3905, southcongresscafe.com.

Tom kha gai at Sway. 1417 S. First St. 512-326-1999, swayaustin.com.

Cabrito soup at Taco More. 9414 Parkfield Drive. 512-821-1561, tacomore.biz.

Pho tái at Tam Deli. 8222 N. Lamar Blvd. 512-834-6458, facebook.com/tamdeliandcafe.

Cioppino at Vespaio. 1610 S. Congress Ave. 512-441-6100, austinvespaio.com.


View Comments 0